Relaxing Sunday? No Such Luck

by Mary McFadden

I always waste my weekend. I write out a long list of things that need doing at the start of the week and I pin it to my notice board above my desk. Can’t possibly ignore it, right? Well, I see it alright, and then I choose to spend the whole day in my pyjamas binge-watching Parks and Recreation and choking down salted peanuts. Does it feel fantastic at the time? Sure, that’s why I do it. But 9pm comes around when I finally roll out of the fort that is my bed and realise that it’s too late to do anything but eat food and go back to sleep.

It’s great when it’s a ‘once in a while’ kind of thing, but when this is every weekend that’s when it just gets depressing. So I made a plan to go to the V&A as I’ve been meaning to go since I moved to London. In fact I’ve been meaning to go to see a lot of places since coming over here, but I’ll whine about that another time. Today, I finally went on a little trip by myself into London, ready to immerse myself in hundreds of years of culture and stunning art.

Screen Shot 2015-03-09 at 02.51.43

And it was really relaxing! I mean, it took almost an hour to get there and I got off at the wrong stop and arrived an hour before closing time, but besides the setbacks it was really enjoyable. There were a surprising amount of artists sketching in the galleries as well which was fascinating to see. What I really liked was the silence; there were no shouting tourists or screaming children or gossiping schoolgirls taking selfies. Everyone was just walking around quietly admiring the beauty around them.

Screen Shot 2015-03-09 at 02.54.11

Anyway I left to go home and it took almost twice the time because the trains in London are apparently organised by a potato and there were lots of delays and re-routes. Once on the train home, after the stimulating art and organisation of getting to the museum, I found the absence of any distraction led to me exploring my own troubled thoughts. I’ve been on/off about London since I moved here; some days I love it and other days I want to get the hell out of here as soon as I can. There are lots of things happening among family and friends back in Ireland too and they were weighing heavily on my mind as well. It was a pretty lousy trip home.

IMG_0495Everyone is familiar with that awful red-hot feeling in your head, as though your brain is too big for your skull and it’s about to burst. I hate it and it scares me because I don’t like when things are out of my control. Stressing is so tedious, especially when you can’t do anything about it and you’re in another country like me. You just have to sit there and stew in your own paranoia. By the time I got home, I went to my local and picked up some dinner, weary from a day that started off so well. I was relieved to see that articles for Synced had already been approved which allowed me to sit back and try to salvage what was ultimately just a bad day. On the bright side, my room smells fantastic thanks to the lilies I picked up that are just now starting to bloom.

Here’s hoping tomorrow brings happier vibes.

 

